šŸ“Œ Don't miss your JAMB, UTME, Post-UTME, Admission List updates! Join us on WhatsApp

Federal Universities In Nigeria

Every state in Nigeria has one Federal University located inside it and that is a fact I believe everybody knows. There is also aĀ Federal University located in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) ā€“ The University of Abuja (UNIABUJA). There is also the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN). This explains why we have more than thirty-six (36) Federal Universities in Nigeria.

Many admission-seekers looking to secure admission in Nigeria often prefer to get one in a Federal University or Private University but the latter is usually an expensive option, hence, many choose Federal Universities. This explains why Universities such as University of Ilorin (UNILORIN), University of Lagos (UNILAG), University of Ibadan (UI), University of Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT), Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) and Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) too many applicants than they can admit every year.

Here Is A List of all Federal Universities in Nigeria

In case you even need this list for any purpose, here they are;

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi (ATBU)

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria (ABU)

Bayero University, Kano (BUK)

Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun (FUPRE)

Federal University of Technology, Azure (FUTA)

Federal University of Technology, Minna (FUTMINNA)

Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO)

Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State (FUD)

Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina (FUDUSTSINMA)

Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State (FUKASHERE)

Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State (FULAFIA)

Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State (FULOKOJA)

Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State (FUNAI)

Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa (FUOTUOKE)

Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State (FUOYE)

Federal University, Wukari, Tarawa State (FUWUKARI)

Michael Okpara Uni. of Agric., Umudike (MOUAU)

Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola (MAUTECH formerly FUTYOLA)

National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos (NOUN)

Nigerian Defence Academy,Kaduna (NDA)

Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (UNIZIK)

Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife (OAU)

Police Academy Wudil

University of Abuja, Gwagwalada (UNIABUJA)

University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, now Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)

University of Agriculture, Makurdi, now FederalĀ University of Agriculture, Makurdi (FUAM)

University of Benin (UNIBEN)

University of Calabar (UNICAL)

University of Ibadan (UI)

University of Ilorin (UNILORIN)

University of Jos (UNIJOS)

University of Lagos (UNILAG)

University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)

University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN)

University of Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT)

University of Uyo (UNIUYO)

Usumanu Danfodiyo University (UDUSOK)

TheĀ National Universities Commission (NUC) is a parastatal under the Federal Ministry of Education that grantsĀ approval for all academic programmes run in Nigerian universities. They also giveĀ approval for the establishment of all higher educational institutions offering degree programmes in Nigerian universities amongst other functions.

Next, the list containing names of all State Universities in Nigeria. Donā€™t expect this list to contain 36 names as some states have more than one University stablished.

Ahmed Ogundimu

Ahmed Ogundimu is a Web Designer and Developer, Digital Marketing Expert and SEO Manager. I enjoy finding solutions to problems and sharing same, hence the reason for creating www.ngscholars.com and some other websites I own. I work as a web developer at Sigmanox NG and also as the web administrator/editor at NGScholars. Follow me on Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.