📌 Don't miss your JAMB, UTME, Post-UTME, Admission List updates! Join us on WhatsApp

FG Approves N500m Each To The 4 New Universities Of Education

The Federal Government has approved N500 million for each of the four Federal Colleges of Education upgraded to Universities of Education as administrative and running costs. Nnamdi Olebara, the Special Adviser, Media, to Ibrahim Shekarau, the Minister of Education, made the disclosure on Sunday in Abuja in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria.

It would be recalled that 4 colleges of education namely; Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo, Federal College of Education, Zaria, Federal College of Education, Kano and Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri were recently upgraded to Universities Of Education. Read More Here

Mr. Olebara said Mr. Shekarau made the announcement when he met with provosts and governing councils of the new universities of education on May 23, in Abuja.

He said the minister assured the provosts and members of the governing councils that they would be retained.

Mr. Shekarau said the Federal Government had directed TETFund to disburse the approved sum to each of the institutions.

“The old laws establishing the colleges of education will be repelled in due course and the appropriate legislatures will regularise the universities of education,’’ the minister said.

Mr. Shekarau said the ministry made concerted efforts to get the Federal Executive Council, FEC, to approve the upgrading because of the need to promote teacher education.

He expressed optimism that the upgrade would attract more Nigerians into the teaching profession with a view to producing first class brains as teachers.

The minister said, “The National Universities Commission and the National Commission for Colleges of Education will supervise the transition of these institutions to their new status.

“Government will appoint Chancellors and Vice-Chancellors for the new institutions.

“The provosts will become the Deputy Vice-Chancellors in the interim as the Federal Government has directed that no Vice-Chancellor will serve in his or her zone of origin.’’

The Federal Executive Council on May 22 approved the upgrade of the four Federal Colleges of Education to Universities of Education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.