📌 Don't miss your JAMB, UTME, Post-UTME, Admission List updates! Join us on WhatsApp

FG Consents To 9 Private Varsities To Be Established

The Federal Executive Council has approved the establishment of nine private universities in Ogun, Lagos, Osun, Akwa-Ibom, Kwara and Delta states.

The new private universities were listed as

  1. Augustine University, Ilara, Lagos State;
  2. Chrisland University, Owode, Ogun State;
  3. Christopher University, Mowe, Ogun State;
  4. Hallmark University, Ijebu Itele, Ogun State;
  5. Kings University, Ode-Omu, Osun State;
  6. Michael and Cecilia Ibru University, Orode, Delta State;
  7. Mountain Top University, Ogun State,
  8. Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom State and
  9. Summit University, Offa, Kwara State.

On the issue of regulating the exorbitant fees charged by private varsities in the country, the Minister of Education, Ibrahim Shekarau, the Federal Government is incapable of regulating the fees charged by private varsities and has granted autonomy to the universities in deciding their tuition fees as profitable to them.

” like private hospitals or nursery schools, owners of private universities are free to charge fees that will give returns to their investments.” He stated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.