Get Admission Directly into 200 Level in any University. CLICK HERE FOR DETAILS!

Get Admission Into TUITION-FREE Universities In Germany. CLICK HERE!

Nigerian Universities to Revert to 5-Point Scale Grading System

Nigerian universities will revert to the five-point scale grading system. In other words, the maximum Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) will be 5.0 for every school.

It is important to point out that some Universities in Nigeria have maximum CGPA system of 4.0 and 6.0. Such schools will have to revert to the 5-point scale grading system according to the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Nigerian Universities to Revert to 5-Point Scale Grading System

All Nigerian Universities to Revert to 5-Point Scale Grading System

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has directed that all Nigerian Universities should revert to the five point scale of grading system hitherto in use with effect from the 2018/2019 academic session.

In a statement signed by Dr G.B. Kumo, Director Academic Planning for the Executive Secretary of NUC, the Commission stated that it has been inundated with series of inquiries particularly from the International Organizations and Foreign Universities on the status of the four point scale in use and previous degrees issued during the five point scale.

Presenting the letter on the Grading System and Degree classification in the Nigerian University System to Members of Senate, the Director Academic Planning Unit, Professor Vincent Asuru said that the issue of course credit system of Grade Point Average in the Nigerian University System was discussed by Directors of Academic Planning Units early 2017 when they met and that the issue of the removal of pass degree was discussed leading to the adoption of a four point grading system.

However, the four point scale which some universities started implementing was also found to have severe implementation shortcomings with some universities observing serious difficulties getting students to acquire average class of degree while the scale made it easier for students to have first class degrees.

Professor Vincent Asuru however stated that Ignatius Ajuru University of Education had maintained the five point scale of grading system before the directives from the National Universities Commission ( NUC).

If you find this post useful, please share on Facebook, Twitter, WhatsApp, etc. using the buttons below. It will definitely help someone out there.
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Email this to someone

Don't want to miss an update?

Join over 143,000 Facebook Followers | Join over 29,000 Twitter Followers | Join over 26,000 Email Subscribers

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.