NUC Splits Mass Communication Into 7 Departments

The NUC has unbundled the department of Mass Communication in tertiary institutions in the country and this has led to some questions as as to whether the department has been scrapped or not.

In a bid to clarify the confusion that greeted the recent unbundling of Mass Communication as a course in Nigerian tertiary institutions, the National Universities Commission (NUC) has said that the course was not scrapped but only broken down into seven units.

NUC Splits Mass Communication Into 7 Departments

NUC says universities have to meet certain requirements before they can start the programmes.

The NUC said the course has to be divided into cinematography, media studies, public relations studies, advertising, broadcasting, film and multi-media studies, development communication studies, information and media studies to enhance specialisation.

On Friday, January 10, 2019, the commission’s spokesman, Ibrahim Yakassai, in an interview with Punch said that universities had the liberty to begin the new programmes after securing NUC approval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.