📌 Don't miss your JAMB, UTME, Post-UTME, Admission List updates! Join us on WhatsApp

Scholarship 2014: OWSD Postgraduate Training Fellowships For Female Scholars

The Organisation For Women In Science For The Development Of The World (OWSD)Postgraduate Training Fellowships for Women Scientists from Sub-Saharan Africa and Least Developed Countries (LDC) at Centres of Excellence in the South application is in progress. The Fellowship is offered to women scientists to pursue postgraduate research in a field of the natural sciences. 

Scholarship for female scholars

Every year Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World OWSD offers talented women scientists from developing countries the opportunity of a lifetime – the chance to study for a PhD in a science subject at an excellent research institute in a developing country other than their own.
Candidates can choose between the full-time option (3 years) at a host institute, or the sandwich option which allows them to enrol for a PhD in their home country and undertake a research visit of at least 6 months in a laboratory or institute abroad.

Please note that applicants who have already contacted a host supervisor who is willing to work with them will be evaluated very positively.

The fellowship covers travel to the host country, tuition fees and living expenses of successful applicants while at the host institute.
See http://owsdw.ictp.it/activities/postgraduate-training-fellowships for more information on the application procedure, eligibility criteria and to download the application form.
Extended deadline for submission of applications is 25 August 2014.

The OWSD fellowships are a funding opportunity for young women scientists from Sub-Saharan Africa and least developed countries to carry-out a PhD degree in scientific fields at centers of excellence located in the South.

The list of the eligible countries is as follows:

Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros Islands, Congo Dem. Rep., Congo Rep., Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Kenya, Kiribati, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Niger, Réunion, Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uganda, Western Sahara, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Further information can be obtained from:

OSWD Secretariat
Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD)
c/o The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) – for the advancement of science in developing countries
ICTP Campus – Strada Costiera, 11 – 34151 Trieste – Italy
Phone: +39-040-2240687
Fax: +39-040-2240689
Email: [email protected][email protected]
Webpage: www.owsd.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.