Two More Private Varsities To Join The Recently Approved 9 – FG

The Federal government has approved the establishment of two more private universities in the country.  This will be a further addition to the 9 that were approved in the February of this year bringing the total number of private varsities in the country to 61.

The Federal Government of Nigeria had disclosed this during the weekly Executive Council Meeting held yesterday (Wednesday).

The new universities are Edwin Clark University in Kiagnodo, Delta State and Hezekiah University in Umudi, Imo State. The other 9 approved in February are:

  1. Augustine University, Ilara, Lagos State;
  2. Chrisland University, Owode, Ogun State;
  3. Christopher University, Mowe, Ogun State;
  4. Hallmark University, Ijebu Itele, Ogun State;
  5. Kings University, Ode-Omu, Osun State;
  6. Michael and Cecilia Ibru University, Orode, Delta State;
  7. Mountain Top University, Ogun State,
  8. Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom State and
  9. Summit University, Offa, Kwara State.

According to the Minister of Information, Senator Patricia Akwashiki, the establishment of the universities was aimed at meeting the high demand for admissions into tertiary institutions in Nigeria.

She disclosed that officials of the National Universities Commission (NUC) were in attendance to brief the Council on the need for the two universities.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.