Subscribe to get Latest Updates in Your e-mail FREE: CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE!

UNILORIN Expels 8 Students Over Various Misconduct

University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) had expelled eight students over various offenses. The DR, Students Affairs of the school made this known to the public. She said the students were expelled from UNILORIN for “misconduct”. Names and Departments of the expelled UNILORIN students were also published.

Read the full details below:

UNILORIN Expels 8 Students

Mrs Kate Sallee, the Deputy Registrar, Student Affairs Unit of the University of Ilorin, on Monday said eight students of the institution were expelled for misconduct.

Sallee, who is also the Secretary of the Student Disciplinary Committee (SDC), said in a statement that the management of the university recently tried the students and found them guilty.

She said the students included Temidayo Olakunle of Department of Educational Technology; Dennis Adeniji of Department of Sociology and Ademola Oguntade of Department of History and International Studies.

Sallee further listed Muhammed Suzo of the Department of Accounting, Olakunle Oyinloye of the Department of Sociology and Ahmad Surajudeen of the Department of Statistics as involved.

“ Others included Azeez Said of the Department of Sociology and Abdulwaheed Sanni of the Department of Common and Islamic Law,” Sallee said.

The Deputy Registrar said two students were also rusticated for one academic session.

According to her, the students were Habeeb Shittu of the Department of Chemistry and Abdullahi Mohammed of the Department of Private and Property Law.

“The university also suspended one Mayowa Salawu of the Department of Zoology pending the outcome of investigations into allegations that he associated with or belonged to an unregistered club on campus,’’ she said.

Sallee, however, noted that one student, Sulaiman Araba, who is of the Department of Social Science Education, was exonerated from the charge of misconduct levelled against him.

“ In its sustained bid to uphold fairness and justice, the penalised students would be given the opportunity to appeal against the punishment meted out to them.

“Those who are not satisfied with the penalty they got should route their appeal to the University Council through their Heads of Departments, Deans of Faculties and the Vice-Chancellor.

“ This should be within 48 days of the receipt of the letters conveying the SDC’s decision to them,” she said.

Sallee listed membership of cults, examination malpractice and breaching of the institution’s code of conduct as some of the reasons behind the expulsion of the students. (NAN)

JOIN NGScholars on Telegram for Instant Updates.

If you find this post useful, please share on Facebook, Twitter, WhatsApp, etc. using the buttons below. It will definitely help someone out there.
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Email this to someone

Do you want to ask any question or comment this post? Ask and get very fast answers on NGScholars Ask! CLICK HERE to go to the forum! . Click on Login and login with Facebbok

Don't want to miss an update?

Join over 143,000 Facebook Followers | Join over 29,000 Twitter Followers | Join over 26,000 Email Subscribers

Do you want to ask any question about this post? Ask and get very fast answers on NGScholars Ask!CLICK HERE to go to the forum! . Click on Login and login with Facebbok.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.